The answer is yes. If you block or remove someone from your Facebook Account, they will not be able to see your status update or photo anymore.
But they will be able to see your previous messages which you have sent them before. If the receiver activates the notification for email, then he/she will 100% able to see your previous messages.
Can I expect Privacy in FaceBook ?
No. If you think that you can keep your personal info private in Facebook then you are 100% wrong.
Facebook is a social media and it is open for everyone. Common Scenario: If you think that after deleting your photo from your facebook, no one can access your deleted photo, then you are in a wrong concept.
Because when you delete your photo in Facebook, it does not delete straight away from Facebook. It just delete from your profile.
So its upto you how you want to use facebook ?